Minutes

KAPA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Date/Location; 9/18/07 Owensboro Executive Inn, Annual Conference

D : 1	3.6 1.17 ' (D '1 ()	D .
Region 1	Mark Harrison (President)	Present
Region 2	David Webb	Present
Region 3	Jim Duke (Secretary)	Present
Region 4	Randy Fathbruckner	Present
Region 5	Joe Prewitt	Present
Region 6	Sherman Hockenbury (V.P.)	Present
Region 7	Mark Bailey	Present
Region 8	Danny Blevins	Absent
Region 9	Terry Fraley	Present
Region 10	Michael Mason	Present
Region 11	Joe Bradshaw	Present
Region 12	Terry Akin	Present
Region 13	Duane Lee	Present
Region 14	Wendell Hatfield	Present
Region 15	Rodney McKibben	Present
Region 16	Tom Adams	Present
At Large	John Hultgren	Present
	Dan Durham	Present
	Tim Mahone	Present
	Mike Poynter	Present
	Jamie Locke	Present
Others Attending	A sign-in sheet is on file.	

ITEM	DISCUSSION	ACTION
Minutes	The minutes of the previous meeting have been	Motion Passed
	posted to the Website by President Harrison. Motion	
	to accept by Duane Lee, Second by Randy	
	Fathbruckner	
Treasurers Report	The Treasurers report was submitted by Jamie Locke	Motion Passed
	Motion to approve by Terry Fraley, Second by Terry	
	Akin	
Allocation and	Jamie Locke reported back on opinion of accountant	Motion Passed
distribution of EMS	in regard to allocating grants for PR programs. The	
Public Relations	accountants from mercy Regional had a favorable	Committee
grants	opinion of the action. Several board members	appointed by
	commented on the annual financial state of the	Chairman
	Association may dictate our ability for continued	Harrison:
	funding. Motion made by Dan Durham to authorize	Dan Durham
	the Chairman to appoint a committee to oversee the	Duane Lee
	distribution and oversight of grants. Second by Terry	Terry Akin
	Akin	

Conference Report	Conference Chair Joe Bradshaw reported that at present, we had approximately 600 registered attendees. 52 Vendors and 58 people participated in Golf scramble. A special thanks went to Eva Pruitt for the quality of the speakers for this year.	
KOHS Task Force	The task force which is made up on members of KAPA along with KBEMS will be meeting very shortly.	
Legislative Report	Sherman announced that Commissioner mark Birdwhistle will be the keynote speaker in the morning for opening ceremony. Sherman expects an announcement from him regarding Medicaid funding.	
Department of Rural Health	Larry Allen spoke to board requesting guidance in the area of EMS education. He is currently working through EKU for a statewide EMS management course. Motion was made by Tom Adams to authorize Chairman Harrision to enter into a contract with Rural Health to allow for more planning and execution of training. Second by John Hultgren	n passed
Annual Elections	Area 1- Mark Harrison No further nominations submitted by members present Area 3- Jim Duke No further nominations submitted by Members present Area 5- Joe Prewitt No further nominations submitted by Members present Area 7- Mark Bailey No further nominations submitted by Members present. Area 9- Terry Fraley No further nominations submitted by Members present	
Annual Election	Area 11- Joe Bradshaw No further nominations submitted by Members present.	
	Area 13- Duane Lee	

	No further nominations submitted by Members present. Area 15- Rodney McKibben No further nominations submitted by Members present At-Large Nominees- Mike Poynter Dan Durham John Hultgren Kevin Pharis Troy Walker Motion to cease nomination by Bruce Farmer, Second by David Webb Election of At-Large Members Mike Poynter Dan Durham John Hultgren Motion by Duane Lee and second by Randy Fathbruckner to authorize 1 vote by the secretary to accept elected ballot.	
Motion to Adjourn	By David Webb, Second by Dan Durham	Motion passed
Officer Elections	President- Nomination of Mark Harrison by Dan Durham, Second by John Hultgren. Motion that nominations cease by Tim Mahone, Second by David Webb Vice President- Nomination of Sherman Hockenberry by John Hultgren, Second by Duane Lee. Motion that nominations cease by Duane Lee,	Motion Passed
	Second by Randy Fathbruckner. Secretary- Nomination of Jim Duke by Mike Poynter, Second by Jamie Locke. Motion that nominations cease by Joe Bradshaw, Second by Randy Fathbruckner.	Motion Passed Motion Passed

	Treasurer- Nomination of Jamie Locke by Joe Bradshaw, Second by Tom Adams. Motion that nominations cease by Duane Lee, Second by Tom Adams.	Motion Passed
	Meeting was re-convened at this time	
KLC Booth	Motion by Sherman Hockenberry to authorize Dan	
	Durham to set up a KAPA booth at the Kentucky	
	League of Cities conference for a cost of \$375.	
	Second by John Hultgren.	Motion Passed
KOHS Committee	Motion by Jim Duke to add Randy Fathbruckner to	
	the KAPA list for the KBEMS/KAPA, KOHS Task	
	Force. Second by Terry Akin.	Motion Passed
Adjourn	Motion by Mike Poynter, Second by Joe Bradshaw	Motion Passed

Respectfully submitted by

Jim Duke, Secretary